T.E.N. Announces 2011 Information Security Executive® (ISE®) North America Awards Nominees

Atlanta, GA (Sept. 20, 2011) –T.E.N., a technology and information security executive networking and relationship-marketing firm announced that nominations have closed for the ISE® North America Awards 2011. Nominees, finalists and winners from all regions of North America including the U.S. and Canada will be recognized at the ISE® North America Leadership Summit and Awards 2011 to be held on Nov. 16-17, 2011 at the Westin Alexandria, Alexandria, Va.

Executives nominated for the ISE® North America Award in the Executive category are defined as leaders who improve their organization’s risk management, data asset protection, privacy and network security efforts while proactively implementing security technology and processes. This year’s executive nominees represent the commercial, education, government and healthcare industries. Judges evaluated these leading nominees based on the following criteria: responsibilities, aligning security with the business, leadership, vision of the future, applying innovation, and building technology partnerships. Nominees include:


  • Jerry Archer, Senior Vice President, CIO, Sallie Mae
  • Matthew Archibald, Managing Director and CISO, Applied Materials
  • James Beeson, CISO, GE Capital
  • Roland Cloutier, Vice President, CSO, ADP
  • Mark Connelly, CISO, ITT
  • Lisa Hodkinson, Vice President of Information Risk Management, Nationwide
  • Doug Jacoby, CISO, Baker Hughes
  • Mark Leary, VP and CISO, TASC
  • Todd Levy, Vice President, Information Security Officer Alternative Investment Solutions Division, State Street Corp.
  • Jeffrey Lolley, Director of Information Security, Hogan Lovells US LLP
  • Spencer Mott, CISO, Electronic Arts
  • Lee Parish, VP & CSO, Parsons Corporation
  • John Petrie, VP, CISO, Harland Clarke Holdings Corp
  • Thomas Quinn, Senior VP and CISO, State Street Corporation
  • Chris Ray, 2nd VP, Information Security and Software Change Management, Aflac
  • John South, CSO, Heartland Payment Systems
  • Kevin Swailes, Director Global IP Protection, COE, General Electric Energy
  • Glen Taylor, Vice President, The Walt Disney Company
  • Vijay Viswanathan, CISO, HD Supply
  • Greg Wood, CISO, U.S. Bank


  • Joe Bennett, CISO, CredAbility
  • Grace Crickette, Chief Risk Officer, University of California
  • Carl Fong, Executive Director of Information Technology, Orange County Department of Education
  • Brad Sanford, CISO, Emory University


  • Brian Peretti, Financial Services Critical Infrastructure Program Manager, U.S. Department of the Treasury
  • Jeffery Shyshka, Deputy CIO for Service Delivery and Engineering, Department of Veteran's Affairs


  • Cathy Beech, CISO, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
  • Brad Sanford, CISO, Emory Health Care
  • Richard Seiersen, Principal Solution Engineer, Kaiser Permanente
  • Amy Wang, Information Security Officer and Director of Information Services, Henry Ford West Bloomfield Hospital
  • Mike Wilson, Vice President and CISO, McKesson

The ISE® North America Award in the Project category garnered an outstanding range of information security projects that were deployed and completed in the last 12-18 months and have had the greatest positive impact within their organization. This year’s project nominees represent the commercial, government and healthcare industries. Judges evaluate projects based on scope, defined goals, ability to execute and overall results achieved for the organization. Nominees and their project titles include:


  • Aetna: IT Governance, Risk, and Compliance Program (IT GRC)
  • BNY Mellon: Governance Risk and Compliance Automation
  • Deutsche Bank: IT Security Exposure Tool (ITSET)
  • Electronic Arts: BSOC - Business Security Operations Center
  • GE Capital: Highly Privileged Access Monitoring and Control for Windows Servers
  • Heartland Payment Systems: E3™ End-to-End Encryption
  • P&E: Enterprise Security Technology Strategy
  • State Street: User Access Request (UAR) System
  • U.S. Bank: Get Secure/Stay Secure
  • Walt Disney Company: Bag it and Tag It!


  • NYC Information Technology & Telecommunications: Security Consolidation with McAfee Cloud Services
  • TRICARE Management Activity, Park of Military Health System: Software Code Quality Checking (SCQC)
  • U.S. Department of Veteran's Affairs: Advanced SIEM for VA OI&T Region 1


  • Aetna: IT Governance, Risk, and Compliance Program (IT GRC)
  • CHS: Identity Management
  • Health Care Service Corporation/Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois: Data Center II
  • Henry Ford West Bloomfield Hospital: Create a Collaborative Security Culture
  • HMS: Enterprise Security, Identity Management & Access Governance
  • Kaiser Permanente: Operational Risk Management for Security Intelligence
  • The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia: Role Based Security - EPIC System
  • TRICARE Management Activity, Park of Military Health System: Software Code Quality Checking (SCQC)

"We’re pleased to announce that the ISE® Programs were chosen as the third most attended programs for IT Security Executives in 2011. They function as an idea incubator, provide a channel for research, education and information sharing, speed knowledge transfer and promote best practices,” said Marci McCarthy, CEO and President of T.E.N. Eligible nominees were selected from the U.S. and Canada.
Nominations are sent to T.E.N.’s distinguished panel of ISE® judges for review and scoring. Judges have the final approval in determining whether an executive or project team is qualified to participate as a nominee at either the regional or national level. Finalists and winners are not announced publicly until the evening of the awards.

The ISE® North America Distinguished Panel of Judges for this year’s awards include:

  • Phil Agcaoili, Chief Information Security Officer, Cox Communications
  • Michael Barrett, Chief Information Security Officer, VP Information Risk Management, PayPal
  • Stacey Halota, Vice President, Information Security and Privacy, The Washington Post Company
  • Paul Huesken, Director of Global Information Assurance, The Coca-Cola Company
  • Richard Marshall, Director, Global Cyber Security Management, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • Dr. Doug Maughan, Cyber Security Branch Chief, Command, Control and Interoperability Division, Science and Technology Directorate, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • Tim McKnight, Vice President, Chief Information Security Officer, Northrop Grumman
  • Chad Mead, Vice President and Technology Governance, Risk and Controls Global Leader, Cargill, Incorporated
  • James C. Nelms, Chief Information Security Officer, Treasury & Global Operations, The World Bank
  • Ariel Silverstone, Chief Information Security Officer, Expedia
  • David Smith, Chief Information Security Officer, Georgetown University
  • Chris Tignor, Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer, Capital One

About T.E.N.
T.E.N., a national technology and information security executive networking organization, facilitates communication between technology and security executives to interact with peers, industry visionaries and solutions providers. Selected as a 2010 TAG Excalibur Award winner, T.E.N hosts the Information Security Executive® (ISE®) Awards Program Series, live and virtual executive roundtables, road shows and private executive engagements. For more information, visit www.ten-inc.com and www.iseprograms.com.