T.E.N. Announces 2011 Information Security Executive (ISE®) Southeast Awards Nominees

Atlanta, GA (January 31, 2011) –T.E.N., a technology and information security executive networking and relationship-marketing firm announced that nominations have closed for the ISE® Southeast Awards 2011. Finalists and winners of the Information Security Executive Awards for both Executive and Project categories will be announced at the ISE® Southeast Executive Forum and Awards Gala on March 16, 2011 at the Westin Buckhead Hotel in Atlanta, Georgia. 

Executives nominated for the ISE® Southeast Award in the Executive category are defined as leaders who improve their organization’s risk management, data asset protection, privacy and network security efforts while proactively implementing security technology and processes. Judges evaluated these leading nominees based on the following criteria: responsibilities, aligning security with the business, leadership, vision of the future, applying innovation, and building technology partnerships. Nominees include:

  • Jerry Archer, SVP, CISO, Sallie Mae
  • Souheil Badran, SVP and General Manager, eCommerce Solutions, First Data
  • Joe Bennett, ISO, Director of Information Security, CredAbility
  • David Billeter, VP, Information Security, IHG, InterContinental Hotel Group
  • Devon Bryan, Deputy Associate CIO, Cybersecurity, IRS
  • Kevin Charest, Deputy Director, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
  • Shane Durham, Director of Information Security, UnitedTech Lender Services
  • Paul Farley, Dir, Security Architecture, Risk & Compliance, Cox Communications
  • Rob Ferrill, CSO, HealthSouth Corporation
  • Chris Harrison, Manager of Network Architect, Genuine Parts Company
  • Kenneth Kilby, Chief Information Security Officer, BB&T, Branch Banking & Trust
  • Haden McWhorter, CSO, Healthwave
  • Chris Ray, 2nd VP, Information Security and Software Change Management (CISO), Aflac
  • Brad Sanford: CISO, Emory University
  • Drew Simonis, CISO, Willis Group Holdings
  • Michelle Stewart, Director of Information Security, AirTran Airways
  • Glen Taylor, Vice President, The Walt Disney Company
  • Vijay Viswanathan, Chief Information Security Officer, HD Supply

The ISE® Southeast Award in the Project category garnered an outstanding range of information security projects that were deployed and completed in the last 12-18 months and have had the greatest positive impact within their organization. Judges evaluate projects based on scope, defined goals, ability to execute and overall results achieved for the organization. Nominees and their project titles include:

  • Community Health Systems Inc: Identity Management
  • Equifax: Global Governance, Risk, and Compliance (GRC) Platform
  • Georgia Technology Authority: State of Georgia Security Transformation Project
  • IHG: Security Integrated into the Application Lifecycle
  • IRS: IRS Cybersecurity Workforce Professionalization Initiative
  • Kennesaw State University: KSU Emergency Pop-Up System
  • Radiant Systems: Radiant Security Services
  • Sallie Mae: Integrated Assessment System
  • SCANA Corporation: System Information Repository Security Crawl Project
  • Thomson Reuters: Thomson Reuters’ Application Assurance Program
  • TravelPort USA: Hoover Program
  • TSYS: Fortify 360 Pilot Project
  • U.S. Department of Health & Human Services: HHS/PSC Chosen as a Shared Service Center, Information Systems Security, Line of Business (ISS/LOB)
  • U.S. Department of Health & Human Services: The HHS CyberSecurity Technology Project

 “We’re pleased to announce that the ISE® Programs were chosen as the third most attended programs for IT Security Executives in 2011. They function as an idea incubator, provide a channel for research, education and information sharing, speed knowledge transfer and promote best practices,” said Marci McCarthy, CEO and President of T.E.N. Eligible nominees were selected from the U.S. Southeast Region including Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Nominations are sent to T.E.N.’s distinguished panel of ISE® judges for review and scoring. Judges have the final approval in determining whether an executive or project team is qualified to participate as a nominee at either the regional or national level. Finalists and winners are not announced publicly until the evening of the awards.

The ISE® Southeast Distinguished Panel of Judges for this year’s awards include:

  • Mark Leary, CISO, TASC
  • Fernando Martinez, VP/CIO, Jackson Health System
  • Lynda Fleury, Assistant Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer, Unum
  • Ed Sarama, Chief Security Officer and Senior Vice President, Fiserv
  • Tim Callahan, VP, ETRM, Sun Trust
  • Paul Huesken, Director of Information Assurance, The Coca-Cola Company
  • Kyle Duke, Information Security Officer, Healthspring
  • John Sapp, Director, Product Development Standards - Security, Risk & Compliance, McKesson Corporation

About T.E.N.
T.E.N. is a national technology and information security executive networking and relationship marketing organization, facilitates interaction with peers, industry visionaries and solutions providers. Executive programs include the Information Security Executive (ISE®) Program Series, roundtables, receptions, and marketing programs. For more information, visit http://www.ten-inc.com and http://www.iseprograms.com