Information Security Executive (ISE®) Nominees Announced for North America Awards 2010

Atlanta, GA (September 21, 2010) –T.E.N., a technology and information security executive networking and relationship-marketing firm announced that nominations have closed for the ISE® North America Awards 2010. Winners, finalists and qualified nominees will be recognized at the ISE® North America Awards Gala to be held on October 28, 2010 at the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, Oxon Hill, MD. The ISE® North America Awards are held in conjunction with a two-day Leadership Summit at the CSI 2010 Conference, which includes keynote speakers, interactive, roundtables moderated by the CISOs and VPs of participating companies, and hot topic panel discussions.

Executives nominated for the ISE® North America Award in the Executive category are defined as leaders who improve their organization’s risk management, data asset protection, privacy and network security efforts while proactively implementing security technology and processes. Nominees are chosen from the commercial, government and academic sectors. Nominees include:

  • Matthew Archibald, Managing Director and CISO, Applied Materials, Inc.
  • Michael Barrett, Chief Information Security Officer, VP Information Risk Management, PayPal
  • Ed Bellis, VP, Chief Information Security Officer, Orbitz Worldwide
  • Tom Borton, Director, IT Security and Compliance, Cost Plus, Inc.
  • Niall Browne, CISO & VP Information Security, LiveOps
  • Brenda Callaway, Executive Director, BCBS
  • Frank Caserta, Chief Security Officer, Acxiom
  • Tom Dunbar, Global IT Chief Security Officer, XL Group
  • Christopher Holm, Director, IT Risk, Security & Control, TXU Energy
  • Steven Jones, Vice President, Director of Operational Risk, Synovus Financial Corp.
  • Jim Kastle, Sr. Business & Information Technology President of Information Security & Risk, VWR International
  • Jack Key, Vice President, Chief Information Security Officer and Chief Privacy Officer, USAA
  • Drew Maness, Vice President of Worldwide Content Protection and Anti-Piracy, Technicolor
  • John Masserini, Chief Information Security Officer, Dow Jones
  • Chad Mead, Vice President and Technology Governance, Risk and Controls Global Leader, Cargill
  • Vickie Miller, Director of Information Security, FICO
  • Tammy Moskites, Chief Information Security Officer, The Home Depot
  • Van Nguyen, Director, Information Security, Synopsys, Inc.
  • John Sapp, Director, Product Development Standards—Security, Risk & Compliance, McKesson Corporation
  • Ken Sidon, President of Antares Management Solutions, EVP/CIO of Medical Mutual Services, Antares Management Solutions (subsidiary of Medical Mutual)
  • Ariel Silverstone, Information Security Director, Travelport
  • Scott Sysol, Vice President, Information Technology, Chief Information Security Officer, CUNA Mutual
  • Julie Talbot-Hubbard, Director of IT Risk and Security Management, Cardinal Health
  • Larry Whiteside Jr., Chief Information Security Officer, Visiting Nurse Service of New York (VNSNY)
  • Robert Zandoli, Chief Information Security Officer, MetLife


  • Charles De Sanno, Executive Director, Enterprise Infrastructure Engineering (EIE), Field Operations and Development, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Douglas Maughan, Cyber Security Branch Chief, Command, Control and Interoperability Division, Science and Technology Directorate, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • Andrew Orndorff, Associate Chief Information Officer (ACIO) for Information Assurance and Privacy and Chief Information Security Officer (CISO), Department of Transportation (DOT)
  • Gerry Young, Secretariat Chief Information Officer, Executive Office of Housing & Economic Development, State of Massachusetts


  • Dr. Lewis Temares, Chief Information Officer and Vice President for Information Technology, University of Miami

The ISE® North America Award in the Project category garnered an outstanding range of information security projects that were deployed and completed in the last 12-18 months as well as have had the greatest positive impact within their organization. Projects are evaluated by judges based on project scope, defined goals, ability to execute and overall results achieved for the organization. Nominees and their project titles include:

  • AIG: AIG’s Global Identity Governance Implementation
  • Applied Materials: Global Risk Management & Compliance Program
  • AT&T: The Voltage Project
  • Fair Isaac: Security in the Cloud
  • Heartland Payment Systems: E3
  • Lockheed Martin: The I Campaign
  • McKesson: Product Risk Management for the Enterprise (PRiME)
  • Nationwide: Shared Encryption Solution to Simplify Compliance with Payment Card Industry Security Standards
  • Northrop Grumman: High Assurance OneBadge
  • Northrop Grumman: GRC- Governance, Risk and Compliance
  • PSC: Implementation of IT Controls
  • Qualcomm: VCR (Virtual Clean Room) San Diego
  • TXU Energy: TXU Energy Roles Rebuild
  • USAA: USAA Info Sec Authentication


  • Michigan State University: Kellogg Center PCI-DSS

 “Being nominated for the ISE® Executive of the Year is an unbelievable honor. Seeing my name listed with the incredible list of nominees is very humbling and rewarding,” said Kyle Duke, Information Security Officer, HealthSpring, ISE® Southeast People’s Choice Winner 2010. Eligible nominees are selected from all regions of North America including the U.S. and Canada.

Nominations are sent to T.E.N.’s distinguished panel of ISE® judges for review and scoring. Judges have the final approval in determining whether an executive or project team is qualified to participate as a nominee at either the regional or national level. Finalists and winners are not announced publicly until the evening of the awards.
The ISE®™ North America Distinguished Panel of Judges for this year’s awards includes:

  • Paul Connelly, Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer, Hospital Corporation of America (HCA)
  • Jerry L. Davis, Deputy Chief Information Officer for IT Security, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • Suzanne Hall, Chief Information Security Officer, American Red Cross
  • Stacey Halota, Vice President, Information Security and Privacy, The Washington Post
  • Paul Huesken, Director of Information Assurance, The Coca-Cola Company
  • Sharon Kaufman, Vice President, Security Awareness and Communication Program, The Bank of New York Mellon

About T.E.N.
T.E.N. is a national technology and information security executive networking and relationship marketing organization, facilitates interaction with peers, industry visionaries and solutions providers. Executive programs include the Information Security Executive (ISE®) Program Series, roundtables, receptions, and marketing programs. For more information, visit and