Information Security Executive (ISE®) West Winners Announced

Qualcomm and PayPal Bring Home Top Honors in 2010

Atlanta, GA (September 17, 2010) – T.E.N.-Tech Exec Networks, Inc. announced finalists and winners last evening for the ISE® West Awards 2010. Awards were presented at a dinner gala held at the Westin St. Francis in San Francisco, CA. The awards recognize both Information Security Executives and Projects for outstanding achievements in risk management, data asset protection, compliance, privacy and network security.

This year’s recipient of the Information Security Executive Award was Michael Barrett, Chief Information Security Officer, VP Information Risk Management, PayPal. Barrett was recognized for his work as a leading security expert fundamentally interested in changing the field on a broader scale. His work on policy, industry standards, technical innovation field partnerships in cooperation with the authorities worldwide are assisting with the development of groundbreaking technical security standards.

Finalists for the Executive of the Year category were also recognized during the awards program for their achievements in the industry. They included Drew Manness, Vice President of Worldwide Content Protection and Anti-Piracy, Technicolor, Matthew Archibald, Managing Director and CISO, Applied Materials, and John Sapp, Director, Product Development Standards--Security, Risk & Compliance, McKesson Corporation.

The Information Security Project of the Year Award was awarded to Qualcomm for “(VCR) Virtual Clean Room San Diego.” Accepting on behalf of the project team was Joshua Davis, Director, Information Security and Risk Management. The Virtual Clean Room is a network enclave designed to protect a high performance build environment while meeting stakeholder requirements of minimal build ecosystem system performance impact or business process change. It increases security by creating a secure network perimeter, implementing standards and improving monitoring without impacting the build environment systems or its users.

Honorable Mention for Project of the Year Award was given to Intuit for “Automated Identity Governance”. Led by Bill Bonney, Senior Manager of Access Management, the projectimplemented an identity governance program to proactively manage risks associated with user access controls while automating the process of supporting and managing the influx of access changes during a seasonal employee spike.
As part of the evening’s recognition, Drew Maness, Vice President of Worldwide Content Protection and Anti-Piracy, Technicolor, was announced as the ISE® West People’s Choice Award Winner. The award represents the nominee who best exemplifies information security leadership as voted on by the registered attendees.

“Beyond the gala event, the ISE® series of programs play an important role in our profession and industry to collaborate and share ideas on the most pressing security problems in an ever changing, complex world,” said Mark Leary, Director and Deputy CISO, Northrop Grumman, ISE® Southeast Executive of the Year Award Winner 2010.

Award winners were selected from the western U.S. region including Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming. 

About T.E.N.
T.E.N. is a national technology and information security executive networking and relationship marketing organization, facilitates interaction with peers, industry visionaries and solutions providers. Executive programs include the Information Security Executive (ISE®) Program Series, roundtables, receptions, and marketing programs. For more information, visit and